Thud!

After years of being tempted, I’ve finally joined the Discworld!

My mum was a huge fan of Terry Pratchett and she used to always go on and on about how I should give his books a chance. When I was younger just reading the blurb was too much for me, too many long words and confusing names like Ankh-Morpork and Pseudopolis Yard, but after studying Shakespeare for a year and as I’m now, as much as I hate to admit it, an adult I’ve gotten used to long words and decided I’d give it another go.

I’ve recently finished reading Thud! by Terry Pratchett and I wasn’t able to put it down! From Commander Vimes to Sally the vampire, the characters completely won me over. I’m very picky about books and usually put them down before the end of the first chapter if they haven’t caught my attention. It was a slow start as I hadn’t chosen the best first book to join the Discworld with, it kind of expected you to know some of the characters, but I kept with it and don’t regret it at all.

The character Death probably made the book for me. My mum had always laughed out loud when she read a Discworld novel and nine times out of ten it was down to a comment from Death. Upon reading Thud! I can see why. His appearance is only short but it was perfect. He added the perfect little smitten of humour just when it was needed. He has already won a space in my heart.

My favourite aspect of the book has to be how relatable, yet unrealistic it is. We don’t have trolls, werewolves and vampires but I do, like Commander Vimes, have a set time for bedtime stories that I would NEVER miss. We do see different cultures clashing over beliefs that neither have any proof off. That’s the main reason for our wars. It was familiar, yet out of this world. I think getting the perfect combination of the two is a true talent and I can only hope to write something half as brilliant as this.

I’m now moving onto Jingo as I can’t wait to jump into another!

Peace, love, compassion and books!

Leave a comment